Revisions and such

I have been lucky enough to find myself a wonderful beta/editor who has agreed to help me with revisions on the completed chapters of my manuscript. I know the old adage that you write the entire novel before going back to revise/edit. I am going against that rule for some very good reasons.

 

  1. I have been away from this manuscript for months. I could easily have just reread it and started writing from where I left off, but while rereading, I noticed too many things that needed adjusting.
  2. I am the type of person who is OCD. I know what I have isn’t solid now. I would rather have a solid base foundation going forward that finish and have the entire book needing work.
  3. I am insecure and I needed to know that this manuscript, my baby, is really worth finishing.

 

I have a solid plan in mind. Right now, Night Within a Day stands at just about 45,000 words. The average romance novel should be between 80,000 and 100,000. I am half-way finished. I can finish revisions by Halloween, if not sooner, which will give me a solid base going into NaNo in November. The novel I started during NaNo in 2011 will be finished this year.

 

My goal is to have it ready to publish by mid-April as a birthday present to myself. I can do this, I will do this.

 

Coffee is hot and strong…I am off to revise.

 

stay-focused-and-keep-revising

Leave a Reply

